多年來數以百計的溫哥華耆英都把華宮視為他們的家,令我們萬分自豪。對我們來說,「家」這個字意義深遠。家不單祗是門窗和四壁,而是安心、舒適和親情融匯一起的感覺,也是個人歸屬感的認同和落腳點的確認而帶來的內心安慰。不論是一個會心的點頭微笑、一頓傳統的中華美食、甚至是在無語言障礙地跟別人閒話寒暄,住在這裡的長者都能感受到關懷和尊重,又能在日常生活中維持自己的尊嚴。我們期望能世世代代地奉獻這種別具文化特色的護理、這種每個反哺子女期望父母得到的愛護、這種子女們希望將來自己能獲得的愛護。

華宮安老院極力表揚這裡住客承襲的悠長中華文化,致力打造這裡的環境來歡迎他們到來安享晚年。不論是一碗蓮藕湯、一個熱騰騰的蒸肉包、甚至結伴打一場衛生麻將,我們都會盡量鼓勵住客參與他們熟識的活動。在搬進華宮之前,有部分華人耆英曾體驗過跟自己文化迥異的安老院設施而感到格格不入。對英語不流利的長者來說,更大的障礙是沒法在語言上溝通,令不少脆弱的長者感覺更孤立和沮喪。有機會到來體驗華宮的長者,他們的心境都大大改觀。

 

「我兩年前從別的安老院遷移到華宮時祗有110磅,我的腸胃接受不了在那裡的西餐。在華宮住了一段時間和得到這裡美食的滋潤後,我的體重和健康慢慢恢復。我現在的體重得到華宮的愛護後達到150磅。我在這裡很快樂和感到幸運。華宮真的是「吾家」。」

住客KEVIN CHENG

 

勞碌一生,能夠回歸自己文化的根源安享晚年,不應該算是奢望。

Villa Cathay is proudly home to hundreds of Chinese seniors from all over Vancouver. And we take that one word very seriously: home. Home is so much more than four walls and a door. Home is about that feeling of safety, of comfort, of family. It means the warmth of belonging and the certainty you’re exactly where you’re meant to be. Whether it’s a simple heartfelt greeting, a traditional Chinese meal, or simply someone to talk to, our seniors are surrounded by love, treated with respect, and supported in living with dignity. We want to keep providing this unmatched level of culturally focused and respectful care for generations to come. The kind of care you’d want your own parents to have. The kind of care you’d want someday.

At Villa Cathay, we celebrate the vibrant Chinese culture of our residents and strive to create a welcoming environment that communicates the honour it is to support them through this stage of their life. Whether it’s sharing a scrumptious meal of lotus root soup and steamed minced pork or connecting over a game of Mahjong, we will continue to bring residents together to participate in activities that are familiar to them. Before moving to Villa Cathay, some Chinese seniors experienced care that wasn’t focused on their heritage. Even harder for them is the fact that many Chinese seniors don’t speak or understand English. These fragile seniors can become withdrawn and depressed. When they are given the chance to experience care at Villa Cathay, everything changes.

 

“I was only 110 pounds when I was transferred to Villa Cathay two years ago. I simply could not adjust to the Western cuisine that was served at my last care home. With time and the delicious menu at Villa Cathay, my weight and health steadily recovered. My weight is now over 150 pounds as a result of the wonderful care that I have received at Villa Cathay. My doctor gave me the green-light to leave Villa Cathay and now I’m in assisted living. Life is great! I visit Villa Cathay at every opportunity to volunteer my time.”

KEVIN CHENG, RESIDENT

 

We all deserve the chance to age amongst the culture that has shaped who we are.